Suwon KT Wiz Wins the Korean Series

The expansion team won its first championship by sweeping through the playoffs, not losing a single game.

Suwon KT Wiz Wins the Korean Series

Photo: KT Wis celebrates its championship.  Credit: KT Wiz.

Suwon KT Wiz KT위즈 won the Korean Series 한국시리즈 over Seoul Doosan Bears 두산 베어스, capturing the first championship in franchise history. The baseball team based in Suwon, Gyeonggi-do Province 경기도 수원 is the newest team in the Korean Baseball Organization (KBO), having been founded as an expansion team in 2013; only once before has the team appeared in the postseason.

On November 19, the Wiz capped off its stunning playoff run in which it suffered no losses by clinching a four-game sweep over the traditional powerhouse Bears in an 8 to 4 victory.

Second baseman Park Gyeong-su 박경수, whose standout defense and solo home run in Game 3 was instrumental for the Wiz championship, won the most valuable player award.

Democratic Party presidential candidate Lee Jae-myung 이재명, formerly the governor of Gyeonggi-do Province (whose provincial capital is Suwon), was in attendance with his wife for the deciding game.

Share Tweet Send
You've successfully subscribed to The Blue Roof
Great! Next, complete checkout for full access to The Blue Roof
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.